You are here

Operators Await Dollar Coin

WASHINGTON, D.C. — Can past U.S. presidents succeed where Susan B. Anthony and Sacagawea failed? The U.S. Mint believes so. Will coin laundry customers use the coin?Starting in February, new dollar coins will be introduced. George Washington, John Adams and Thomas Jefferson are scheduled to grace the coin in 2007. The coins will be the same size as the Sacagawea dollar, and will also have the same golden color.OPTIMISM REIGNSEdmund C. Moy, director of the Mint, is optimistic about the new dollar coins because rising prices mean it now takes more quarters in a variety of applications such as feed vending machines, parking meters, etc. Moy also believes that the new eye-catching dollar designs will contribute to the success of the coins. The series will honor four different presidents per year, in the order they served.AN 'OLD FAVORITE' RETURNSThe new dollar coin came about as a result of Senate Bill 1047, which was introduced in the United States Senate on May 17, 2005, by Senator John Sununu with more than 70 co-sponsors. The bill was eventually presented to President George Bush on December 15, 2005, and he signed it into law on December 22, 2005.This act also directs the Mint to continue to issue Sacagawea dollar coins.At least one-third of the dollar coins issued in each year of the program must be Sacagawea dollar coins during the Presidential series. The Sacagawea design is required to continue after the program ends.It would take about 11 years to honor all the presidents, and the series may not run that long. The act provides that no former president will be depicted on a coin within two years of his death, and the series will end when all the then-eligible presidents have been honored. 

Have a question or comment? E-mail our editor Bruce Beggs at [email protected].